Testimonials for Cuadra San Francisco Los Cabos

Cuadra San Francisco    Testimonials 

Many cards, E-mail and articles have been written throughout the years and we thought that it would be nice to share some of them.

 

“We ride here every year, a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 21, 2013

We have been riding annually at Cuadra San Francisco for many years.

The professional environment, well-cared-for horses, excellent trail guides, and of course the stunning scenery, keep us coming back.

The green desert, the canyons, the arroyos -- magical trails with a terrific facility.

Visited February 2013

 

“Fun ride on very nice horses”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 10, 2013

I took some time away from my family to go off alone for a "real" trail ride on some very nice horses. Upon arrival the place had a nice tranquil feel and felt like a little oasis. I took a private ride with guide Felix, who was a nice, fun young man with good horse experience. He took the time to stop and take pictures of me and made efforts to get some nice shots! He was good with the rope and put on a nice show with his lasso. My horse was a young grey who was responsive and had a very nice walk, trot and canter. My horse was light in his bridle and was happy. Never a spook or side step, which shows me how safe these horses are for all riders. We even had a few fun gallops along our ride! My horse went right back to a walk when I asked and was well mannered. I chose to stay and ride on the desert side and rode around 10 am for about 1 hour. They did offer a beach ride, but I have done this before and was curious about the desert side. It was pleasant and not too hot. The sand trails are wide and safe. The flowering trees and huge cactus are beautiful in a ruff hewn way. The return, looking out to the sea had a nice breeze that made the ride even better. The saddle was comfortable and fit the horse well. The owners of the facility took the time to say hello and speak with me personally asking about my experience and where I was from. Overall an A+ experience. I am considering coming back for a few classical dressage riding lessons in the Fall. They seem to have a nice herd of Iberian and Azteca horses! It was fun watching the riders work with the garocha pole and practicing Spanish walk on the horses. The rates are very reasonable and comparable to the cowboys on the beach who do not always have healthy and happy horses. If you want a real ride while in Cabo where your not just a "passenger" on some sad soul of a horse, take the time to go to Cuadra San Francisco and enjoy! I highly recommend. I took a cab there and back. Take cash and don't forget to tip your guide!

Visited April 2013

 

“Fun ride on very nice horses”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 10, 2013

I took some time away from my family to go off alone for a "real" trail ride on some very nice horses. Upon arrival the place had a nice tranquil feel and felt like a little oasis. I took a private ride with guide Felix, who was a nice, fun young man with good horse experience. He took the time to stop and take pictures of me and made efforts to get some nice shots! He was good with the rope and put on a nice show with his lasso. My horse was a young grey who was responsive and had a very nice walk, trot and canter. My horse was light in his bridle and was happy. Never a spook or side step, which shows me how safe these horses are for all riders. We even had a few fun gallops along our ride! My horse went right back to a walk when I asked and was well mannered. I chose to stay and ride on the desert side and rode around 10 am for about 1 hour. They did offer a beach ride, but I have done this before and was curious about the desert side. It was pleasant and not too hot. The sand trails are wide and safe. The flowering trees and huge cactus are beautiful in a ruff hewn way. The return, looking out to the sea had a nice breeze that made the ride even better. The saddle was comfortable and fit the horse well. The owners of the facility took the time to say hello and speak with me personally asking about my experience and where I was from. Overall an A+ experience. I am considering coming back for a few classical dressage riding lessons in the Fall. They seem to have a nice herd of Iberian and Azteca horses! It was fun watching the riders work with the garocha pole and practicing Spanish walk on the horses. The rates are very reasonable and comparable to the cowboys on the beach who do not always have healthy and happy horses. If you want a real ride while in Cabo where your not just a "passenger" on some sad soul of a horse, take the time to go to Cuadra San Francisco and enjoy! I highly recommend. I took a cab there and back. Take cash and don't forget to tip your guide!

Visited April 2013

 

“One of the best trail rides I've been on”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 3, 2013

We opted for a 2-hr inland trail ride and had a wonderful experience. The horses were exceedingly well-trained and the trail guide was friendly and helpful. We rode up an arroyo along the creekbed as it wound through canyon walls. The scenery was amazing and it was fun trying to spot rabbits, geckos, and all sorts of birds, and there were many beautiful butterflies swarming the bushes. I will definitely make this a regular part of future visits to the area.

Visited March 2013

 

“One of the best trail rides I've been on”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 3, 2013

We opted for a 2-hr inland trail ride and had a wonderful experience. The horses were exceedingly well-trained and the trail guide was friendly and helpful. We rode up an arroyo along the creekbed as it wound through canyon walls. The scenery was amazing and it was fun trying to spot rabbits, geckos, and all sorts of birds, and there were many beautiful butterflies swarming the bushes. I will definitely make this a regular part of future visits to the area.

Visited March 2013

 

“Exploring Baja”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful family ride. I highly recommend the 2 hour ride into the canyon. The scenery is stunning and a wonderful way to see a different side of this area. The horses are very well trained and it was great to not ride nose to tail but to be able to ride side by side and have a more relaxed ride. Some of us were experienced and some not, and the horses they gave us handled our range of abilities very well. We chose to pay a little more to have the ride be just our family with the guide, and that was special as well.

Visited March 2013

 

 

“Exploring Baja”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful family ride. I highly recommend the 2 hour ride into the canyon. The scenery is stunning and a wonderful way to see a different side of this area. The horses are very well trained and it was great to not ride nose to tail but to be able to ride side by side and have a more relaxed ride. Some of us were experienced and some not, and the horses they gave us handled our range of abilities very well. We chose to pay a little more to have the ride be just our family with the guide, and that was special as well.

Visited March 2013

 

“I had a great time, the horses were excellent.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2013

We took a ride into the hills, then down to the beach. The horses were excellent, and the trail guide was very entertaining and helpful, including doing a "Mexican Lasso Show" for us. The staff and owners are wonderful, and there is a party of friendly dogs that came to greet us when we arrived. I would recommend it, and look forward to visitng again on my next trip.

Visited February 2013
“I had a great time, the horses were excellent.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2013

We took a ride into the hills, then down to the beach. The horses were excellent, and the trail guide was very entertaining and helpful, including doing a "Mexican Lasso Show" for us. The staff and owners are wonderful, and there is a party of friendly dogs that came to greet us when we arrived. I would recommend it, and look forward to visitng again on my next trip.

Visited February 2013

 

“I had a great time, the horses were excellent.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 23, 2013

We took a ride into the hills, then down to the beach. The horses were excellent, and the trail guide was very entertaining and helpful, including doing a "Mexican Lasso Show" for us. The staff and owners are wonderful, and there is a party of friendly dogs that came to greet us when we arrived. I would recommend it, and look forward to visitng again on my next trip.

Visited February 2013

 

“Wonderful trail ride”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2013

A highlight of our recent trip to Cabo was the two-hour trail ride I took with my sister and niece at Cuadra San Francisco. I was very impressed by the well-trained and well-mannered horses, and though it had been a while since any of us had been horseback riding the entire experience was interesting and enjoyable. We took the two-hour canyon ride and our guide was helpful and informative. All in all a fabulous morning!

Visited March 2013
“Wonderful trail ride”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2013

A highlight of our recent trip to Cabo was the two-hour trail ride I took with my sister and niece at Cuadra San Francisco. I was very impressed by the well-trained and well-mannered horses, and though it had been a while since any of us had been horseback riding the entire experience was interesting and enjoyable. We took the two-hour canyon ride and our guide was helpful and informative. All in all a fabulous morning!

Visited March 2013

 

“Wonderful trail ride”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2013

A highlight of our recent trip to Cabo was the two-hour trail ride I took with my sister and niece at Cuadra San Francisco. I was very impressed by the well-trained and well-mannered horses, and though it had been a while since any of us had been horseback riding the entire experience was interesting and enjoyable. We took the two-hour canyon ride and our guide was helpful and informative. All in all a fabulous morning!

Visited March 2013

 

 

 

August 2011        We had a wonderful ride with Martin when we were vacationing in Cabo  I was once again reminded of how marvelously trained your horses were!, which is something you don't often experience with rental horses.

 

Nancy D. Brown, a Professional Travel Writer visited Cuadra San Francisco and wrote an interesting article featuring Cuadra San Francisco, July 2011and she also posted a video on youtube.  Here is the link

video on youtube

 

TRAVEL   June 24, 2009

How Cabo Can You Go?
DailyCandy Goes to Cabo

You thought you were over Cabo and wet T-shirt contests at Señor Frog’s. (That was so 2008.)

But now, because of media hype (short for “hysteria”) and a limited understanding of geography (Cabo didn’t have a single case of swine flu), you can get a sweet deal on the high end of the Baja peninsula, where there’s not a whistle-blowing tequila-pourer in sight

Animal Farm Don’t let crashing waves distract you from the mountains. Get a little dirty on an hour-long horseback ride through the desert. No old whinnies here: Family-run Cuadra San Francisco offers beautiful, well-trained horses. Work up to a gallop on the way up, but slow down as you head back or miss the breathtaking views.

 

April 2009

Please relay this message to Valente and his father. I want to thank them so much for the wonderful riding lessons and my friends really enjoyed the trail ride with Jose. Your horses are truly incredible and Chinaco is probably the most beautifully trained horse I have ever ridden.  We are so focused on Jumping horses in the Northeast and Valente taught me the importance of patient training on the flats. If I lived closer I would love to buy a horse from Cuadra San Francisco. Thank you again and I hope to come back in the fall with my daughter for  more lessons.

Lise.R.

January 2009

Valente, Martin, and Juan,                                                                              
 
My husband Bradley & I, Terese wanted to extend a grande Texas "Thank You", for the fabulous ride. My husband had never been on a horse and I grew up in the saddle barrel racing, and team roping.  The horses really complimented our different levels of experience.
The views were amazing on the trails and you could see so far away. It was really fun. We enjoyed meeting you all and seeing all of the animals...horses, dogs, and the hawk. Cinnamon was a fun horse for me!
Juan was a great trail guide. Martin was so sweet. It was also nice to meet Valente.
Much Gracious From Borger, Texas, USA,
Bradley & Terese B.

March 2008

Hello!
My family and I have been visiting Cabo about once every year or two for the last 9 years. Some of our favorite memories have been our trail rides with you! I have photos of my kids over the years growing bigger and more capable on your horses, and always with big smiles on their faces!! We are visiting again in a couple of weeks - along with another family. We would like to arrange for a private trail ride for our 2 families while we are there (8 people total...4 adults and 4 children aged 8-12) . Possible dates are April 6 - 11. We would probably like a 2 hour ride, combining beach and hills. Please let me know what times you would recommend for us. THANK YOU!!
Sincerely,

Monica M.

March 2008

Senor Valente,

I hope you can understand my English writing!  You speak my language so beautifully but I understand that reading it may not be so easy.  Meeting you and your wife and riding every day at your stable was one of the best parts of our vacation in Cabos.  I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to see the beach (la playa!) through the ears of a horse, to feel the salty air on my face and to hear the sound of the horses' hoofs in the sand ... it was magical!  The ocean was like music to me, the horse was like the instrument.  Ahh, that is probably much too difficult to understand.  I must practice my Spanish so that I can say it to you next year.

What I want to say is THANK YOU for making my time in Cabos so very special.  You and your wife are gracious, kind and generous people and I came to respect and love you very much.  A year will be a very long time to wait to see you again.  I will have many memories of my time with you.  You are a great teacher and I believe that I could become a good rider once again with your help.  I had NO FEAR when I was riding with you.  I had not had a lesson since December 2000 and should have been embarrassed but I WAS NOT.  I was HAPPY to learn from you.

Please give your beautiful wife a big kiss from me and take care.  Ginny.  (the American who came all but one day last week and had the swelling in the eyes!)

 

December, 2004

Dear Karen and Francisco,
The last time I was in Los Cabos you gave me a truly incredible and eye-opening experience.......  Because of you guys I have always felt that the different types of riding can all contribute to the benefit of a horse. ...  I would never have learned the importance of being a well-rounded horseperson if it were not for Francisco... So thank you for taking the time to give me a glimpse of everything that I knew nothing about.  I am going to try my hardest to get down for a visit this summer.  I can't wait to see you guys again.  Alex

                             

Alex on Cabeña, a four year old mare, jumping

for the first time!

 

More

Paul and Susan are Students that come from New York twice a year for lessons with Francisco.

Paul said, "I can not beleive how much Francisco has taught me in such a short time.  We

have planned our vacation times around Francisco and his fantastic horses and can not

wait to come back this summer!"  Feb.2005

 

Another happy couple

that became engaged on our look out point!

Vis.A.Vis   The online destination fro Fashion, Style and Culture

by Maria Tettamanti

"EXPLORE"
"As mentioned earlier, Cabo offers a menagerie of outdoor activities. We opted for a sunset horseback ride through the canyons with Cuadra San Francisco. Stable owner Francisco Barrena says, "The best sunset rides are in the hills, not the beach, and that's where we take you." For you trivia buffs, it was Barrena's steeds you saw galloping through the dunes of the movie Troy. In fact, I asked Barrena if I could ride Brad Pitt's horse, but was answered with, "That particular horse was sold and lives in California now." A gentle ride through the orange canyons was more than enough to lift my spirits, for there's a supernatural sensation in Cabo's desert peaks and valleys. The lush plant life is both distinctive and unusual while the rock formations are magnificently mind-blowing. Desert wildlife is aplenty with unique insects, birds, lizards, fox, coyote, rabbit and of course the odd snake or two. The energy deep into the hills is palpable and Mother Nature's splendor shines through and through."

 


Hello Karen and Francisco,

Thank you for all the great rides! The kids and adults had lots of fun on the horses and just hanging around the ranch. Gerry F. had the highlight of his trip on one of your tours. He was ear to ear smile when he told me the story. Thank you for making memories.  Michelle H. Dec. 2004


Dear Don Francisco, My special ride with above was certainly a highlight of our trip to the Baja. It was memorable and I am so glad that I went without a group! My riding friends back home in New York are very envious and they loved the photos as I hope you will too. Let me know a mailing address if you would like hard copies-the one of Valente and falcon is very good so is the one of pretty Josephina! Thanks too for the ride back to Las Ventanas. Regards, Jenny B  March 2005

 

Una Carta de Sara Hardwig de Destination Mexico

16 de Julio 2005

Hola Francisco!

Nada mas queria agadecerte mucho por los tours de caballo para el Grupo STERIS la semana pasada.  La gente del grupo nos dijo mucho cuanto les gusto, y como siempre fue un gran exito....  Muchas Gracias por todo, Francisco, y seguimos en contacto!

Saludos,

Sara Hardwig

Incentive Coordinator

DESTINATION MEXICO

 

Interviews

Travel Café host, Chuck Henry visits the Cuadra
“Later in the morning, Chuck chose to spend some time horseback riding with Sr. Francisco Barrena, Owner of the Cuadra San Francisco Equestrian Center. Exploring inland reveals an area of beautiful natural diversity from desert and rock formations to pristine white beaches. Chuck's horse was hand-picked for him, as are all of the visitor's horses based upon the rider's experience. Lucky Sr. Barrena is also working with Brad Pitt on his horsemanship for the movie Troy. The Center is popular so make your reservations early. You may visit them on-line at www.loscaboshorses.com.” (from the Travel Café Interview, NBC, LA)

Writer Wolf Schneider, “Cowboys and Indians Magazine” April 2005
“The absolute best is next, though, at the Cuadra San Francisco stables. The plan was to go horseback riding on the beach during our last sunset, but …’Yes, I know riding on the beach in Mexico is a fantasy, but if you ride in San Carlos Canyon,’stable owner Francisco J. Barrena persuades us, ‘there’s all the flora from Baja--Cacutses cardones, the chollas, pink San Miguel flowering vines, palo verde and palo blanco trees, mesquite trees, and Ironwood.” What’s more, he says in the canyon, we’ll really have more freedom to ride.’”

Another Photo Shoot using horses from Cuadra San Francisco 12/05

Valente Barrena, showing the model how to lead the filly.

More Letters from our wonderful customers

To the staff of Westin Regina,

   Last year and this visit we have been recommended for horseback riding by your staff the stables of -----------.  It is our opinion (by our experience) that this is a very poor decision by you.  The place is dirty, the horses look as though they have never been feed and the staff (?) are scary!

     Having had that experience, we searched out, on our own, another choice.  We feel the stables, just several minutes away,     Cuadra San Francisco           (144-0160) are outstanding.  The horses are wonderful, staff is knowledable, friendly and lessons are great!

     We hope from our experiences, you will never send your guests to the ------------ and change your “suggested” stable to Cuadra San Francisco, where You can be sure they will have a wonderful and safe experience.

Sincerely,

Nancy and Michael Friedman

Joe Cummings

Moon Handbooks: Cabo

Avalon Travel Publishing, Inc.

1400 65th Street, Suite 250

Emeryville, California 94608

Dear Mr. Cummings:

While visiting the Los Cabos region with my family, we found our journey enhanced and delightfully enlightened by the accompaniment of your guidebook.  As a thank you, we would like to offer a recommendation we feel would enhance your guide’s suggestions for the Cabo San Lucas area.

Horseback riding is a pleasure we have enjoyed on several of our travels and, in our recent trip, we stumbled upon a stable near Cabo San Lucas that is a real gem.  Overseen by a Francisco Barrena, a man who has dedicated his life to the world of horses (from bull fighting, to dressage, to jumping), Cuadra San Francisco is a remarkably friendly, flexible, low-key stable that is managed with impressive professionalism.  A major part of their activities are horseback trips for tourists to the area.  Wonderful trips for 1 or 2 hours that range into canyons and beaches leave 4 or 5 times a day from their stables.  They are led by careful and confident guides on reliable and carefully maintained horses.  They have both English and Western tack.  A significant part of their activities involves horse training for others (including horses for bullfighting in Mexico and polo horses for export to the United States), and their training expertise is apparent in all their horses.  Their prices appear to be competitive with other stables in the area and they offer lessons in a variety of riding styles to both tourists and residents.  Just sitting outside their office are in the Bougainvillea covered veranda watching the horses was a relaxing experience for me. 

My nine-year-old daughter is an experienced (almost jaded) horseperson and she left feeling that our time with Cuadra San Francisco was the highlight of our trip.  Far more impressive to me was the reaction of my five-year-old son.  He had never ridden a horse before and in fact, had always been nervous with the whole idea of horses. In a burst of what could have been called inn-advised enthusiasm, I convinced him to come with us on our ride.  The guide worked with him in an incredibly supportive and caring manner that would have been beyond the call of duty anywhere.  In a tourist-dominated locale, it was phenomenal.  By the end of the one-hour trip, he was happily relaxed and looking forward to his next time on a horse with a feeling of newfound competence.

On page 228 of your guidebook, you discuss the features of a number of horseback riding resources in the Cabo San Lucas area.  I believe the addition of Cuadra San Francisco to you discussion would be of great service to your future readers

Sincerely, Ken Bradley.

Francisco Barrena with Copla a new Iberian filly born March 10, 2006 and her mother, Cabeña

Email received April24, 2006

Hello Francisco,

I just wanted to write you and say what a great time our family had horseback riding last week on our vacation. We are a family of 6 with 4 young boys and none of us had ever been on a horse...I loved how you told us you would give us "automatic" horses...and that you did! You made us very comfortable and even our 4 year old rode his own horse with no concerns or problems. Our guide, Jose, was very nice as well. We all had a really great time...our kids still haven't stopped talking about how fun it was. Thanks so much for making us feel so comfortable...we will definitely return when we are in Cabo again!

Regards,

The Burke Family

Francesca DeBerge and her son Andres, Francisco and Valente Barrena

April 2006


 

 

HOME

Cuadra San Francisco invites you to write a review and have it published online in Tripadvisor.
Click on the Tripadvisor logo which links directly to the Cuadra San Francisco reviews. Simply register and complete your review. Francisco and all the staff and horses at the Cuadra appreciate your input and looks forward to serving all your Equestrian needs in the future.